Home » blog » The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018

The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018

This month is all about the Netflix originals! From the long-anticipated release in America of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society to the charming rom-com To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and more, this month has great content to add to your Netflix list.

RELATED TOP 12 OF THE BEST ROMANCES NEW TO NETFLIX JULY 2018

So, let’s take a look at my romantic recommendations below for Netflix August 2018, each with the synopsis, rating, and Netflix release date. Titles are listed in alphabetical order.

(NOTE: We aim to share less explicit content that has PG-13 “like” content and below minus a few exceptions for artistic merit and/or genre interest. If a program is Rated R or TV-M, we will leave a content note to let you know.)

#1 Flavors of Youth: International Version (Netflix Original)

 Memories in a bowl of steaming noodles, a fading beauty finding her way and a bittersweet first love — all in these stories of city life in China.

Content Note: Rating and Content Unknown

Available on Netflix: August 4

#2 The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Netflix Film)

Guernsey Movie; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Photo: Netflix/StudioCanal

 A London writer bonds with the colorful residents of Guernsey as she learns about the book club they formed during the WWII German occupation.

Content Note: PG-13

Available on Netflix: August 10

#3 The Innocents (Netflix Original – British Drama)

 When a teenage couple runs away to be together, the extraordinary gift they possess unleashes powerful forces intent on dividing them forever.

Content Note: Looks like it might be TV-M. But content unclear.

Available on Netflix: August 24

#4 The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Arwen and Aragorn; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Arwen and Aragorn in Lord of the Rings: Photo: Miramax

 From the idyllic shire of the Hobbits to the smoking chasms of Mordor, Frodo Baggins embarks on his epic quest to destroy the ring of Sauron.

Content Note: PG-13

Available on Netflix: August 1

#5 No Reservations

No Reservations; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Photo: Warner Bros

 Kate, an uptight chef, finds her life turned upside down when her sister dies in a car accident and she becomes her niece’s sole guardian.

Content Note: PG

Available on Netflix: August 1

#6 The Originals: Season 5

The Originals; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Photo: CW

 Desperate to see her father Klaus after seven years, Hope resorts to drastic measures to bring him back to New Orleans.

Content Note: TV-14

Available on Netflix: August 9

#7 The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement

Princess Diaries 2; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Photo: Disney

 Now settled in Genovia, Princess Mia faces a new revelation: she is being primed for an arranged marriage to an English suitor.

Content Note: G

Available on Netflix: August 1

#8 P.S. I Love You

P.S. I Love You; The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018
Photo: Warner Bros

 When she loses her beloved husband to a brain tumor, grieving widow Holly Kennedy learns that he left a series of letters behind to help her cope.

Content Note: PG-13

Available on Netflix: August 1

#9 Switched (Netflix Original)

 High schooler Ayumi’s perfect world evaporates when her envious classmate Zenko somehow steals her body, her boyfriend and her life.

Content Note: Rating and content unclear.

Available on Netflix: August 1

#10 To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before 

 When her secret love letters somehow get mailed to each of her five crushes, Lara Jean finds her quiet high school existence turned upside down.

Content Note: Likely will be PG-13

Available on Netflix: August 17


BONUSES:

Besides my top 10 choices, you can also check out Batman BeginsThe AviatorThe 100: Season 5, and The Laws of Thermodynamics (Netflix Film). All of these have elements of romance and will be added to Netflix throughout August. And then if you’re in the mood for an awesome chick flick, check out Steel Magnolias.

What romances do you plan to watch on Netflix this month? Leave a comment below and let me know!


Featured Image at Top: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. Photo – Netflix/StudioCanal

ARE YOU A ROMANCE FAN? FOLLOW THE SILVER PETTICOAT REVIEW:
Silver Petticoat Review Logo Our romance-themed entertainment site is on a mission to help you find the best period dramas, romance movies, TV shows, and books. Other topics include Jane Austen, Classic Hollywood, TV Couples, Fairy Tales, Romantic Living, Romanticism, and more. We’re damsels not in distress fighting for the all-new optimistic Romantic Revolution. Join us and subscribe. For more information, see our About, Old-Fashioned Romance 101, Modern Romanticism 101, and Romantic Living 101.
Pin this article to read later! And make sure to follow us on Pinterest.

 

By on July 27th, 2018

About Amber Topping

Amber works as a blogger/writer full-time and fell in love with stories and imagination at an early age. She has a Humanities and Film Degree from BYU, co-created The Silver Petticoat Review, contributed as a writer to various magazines, and has an MS in Publishing from Pace University, where she received the Publishing Award of Excellence and wrote her thesis on transmedia, Jane Austen, and the romance genre. Her ultimate dreams are publishing books, writing and producing movies, traveling around the world, and forming a creative village of talented storytellers trying to change the world through art.

More posts by this author.

5 thoughts on “The Top 10 Best Romances New to Netflix August 2018”

  1. I cannot WAIT for The Guernsey film, although I wish it had been given a theatrical release. I just read the book this spring in preparation for the film. I hadn’t read it before because I was certain it wouldn’t live up to its’ hype. I’ve never been more glad to be proven wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.