The Silver Petticoat Book Club – Your September 2020 read is here!

*Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission if you choose to buy through our links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Please read our disclosure for more information.


The Silver Petticoat Book Club rotates between picking newer books and “classic” books every other month. That means that one month we’ll pick a more modern book (any books published after the year 2000 – though we’ll give preference to more recently published books) and then the next month, we’ll pick a classic book (any book printed before the year 2000).

Your September 2020 read marks our first fantasy Silver Petticoat Book Club pick! And it’s bewitching, romantic, and as witty as a Georgette Heyer novel.

THE SILVER PETTICOAT BOOK CLUB REVEAL (YOUR SEPTEMBER 2020 READ!)

Sorcerer to the Crown US book Cover: The Silver Petticoat Book Club: Your September 2020 Read is ‘Sorcerer to the Crown’

The Silver Petticoat Book Club pick of September is…Sorcerer to the Crown, a historical fantasy set in an alternate Regency England. There’s a Jane Austen like love story, dragons, and a ton of magic with diverse protagonists. Oh, and did we mention vampires?

Published in 2015, Zen Cho went on to win the British Fantasy Award for Best Newcomer and was also nominated for a Locus Award (Science Fiction & Fantasy)! Now, we are massive fans of fantasy novels. Add in a good love story? We are so there. Naturally, as soon as we discovered Sorcerer to the Crown, we were sold immediately. Thankfully, this delightful, enchanting debut did not disappoint.

Sorcerer to the Crown – Book Blurb

Magic and mayhem collide with the British elite in this whimsical and sparkling debut.

At his wit’s end, Zacharias Wythe, freed slave, eminently proficient magician, and Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers—one of the most respected organizations throughout all of Britain—ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England’s magical stocks are drying up.

But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, he sets on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain—and the world at large…

THE STORY OF SORCERER TO THE CROWN

First of all, the characters in Sorcerer to the Crown are fabulous in a Jane Austen sort of way! Zacharias, a freed slave, is the Sorcerer Royal of England. Basically, he’s in charge of magic. Of course, all the stuffy gentlemen want nothing to do with a black man as their leader. They even accuse him of murder behind his back.

And, naturally, women’s magic must also be muted. Instead of embracing their power, girls must train to be Gentlewitches (who literally use killing curses on themselves to tame their abilities). Enter Prunella, a half-Indian woman with a mysterious parentage.

In essence, she reminds me of Anne Shirley (an orphan who teaches at a school for girls), Elizabeth Bennet (opinionated and witty), and Mary Crawford (driven to marry advantageously). Additionally, she’s a natural at magic, and she’s done taming herself. Mainly after Mrs. Daubeney, the woman who raised her at the school turns her back on Prunella and makes her a servant.

After all, Prunella’s not equal to the other girls in the school. (Obviously, this pains poor Mrs. Daubeney. But what is a woman to do when her Gentlewitch school is judged by English society?)

RELATED: Your August 2020 Read is ‘The Blue Castle’

Meanwhile, Zacharias must discover the strange decline of magic in England and the connection to Fairyland. As this novel clearly pays homage to Jane Austen, prepare to swoon as soon as Zacharias and Prunella collide. Sure, the romance is refined like an old-fashioned classic novel, but that’s also why we love it. It’s more about the dialogue and the conversation between two intelligent characters.

On a side note, if you find the style hard to acclimate or adjust to at first, give it a few chapters and wait for Prunella’s wonderful entrance. Trust us. It’s hard to put down after that.

Overall, we are smitten with Sorcerer to the Crown. For readers who like Regency Romance, Harry Potter-like magic, novels like Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, and themes about misogyny and race, we think you’ll like this entertaining and magical romp. This comedy of manners is witty, charming, and swoony. And we can’t wait to talk more about the book at the end of the month! We hope you enjoy your September 2020 read!

BUY THE SEPTEMBER 2020 READ:

The Silver Petticoat Book Club: Your September 2020 Read is ‘Sorcerer to the Crown’ Pinterest Image

JOIN THE SILVER PETTICOAT BOOK CLUB

We’re a book club designed to discuss great books with love stories from all genres. That means that while we will pick romance novels sometimes (minus erotica), this is not a romance novel book club. Romance novels follow specific rules (such as the HEA ending). This book club focuses on various types of books (Literary, Women’s Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, Historical Fiction, Classics, etc.) with a love story. So, that’s the difference.

The Silver Petticoat Book Club logo

We’ll discuss Sorcerer to the Crown (your September 2020 read) the final week of September on the three social media channels listed below. However, you can also find some information on The Silver Petticoat Review (subscribe to our newsletter for updates). You can also follow #TheSilverPetticoatBookClub hashtag.

Read more about The Silver Petticoat Book Club HERE.

What do you think of our latest Silver Petticoat Book Club reveal? Do you plan to read our September 2020 pick? Have you read Sorcerer to the Crown before (don’t give away spoilers!)? Let us know in the comments.

(NOTE: If you’re a publisher, publicist, or author with a new book that fits The Silver Petticoat Book Club, and would like us to consider it for future picks, please send us an email!)


*Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission if you choose to buy through our links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Please read our disclosure for more information. 

ARE YOU A ROMANCE FAN? FOLLOW THE SILVER PETTICOAT REVIEW:
Silver Petticoat Review Logo Our romance-themed entertainment site is on a mission to help you find the best period dramas, romance movies, TV shows, and books. Other topics include Jane Austen, Classic Hollywood, TV Couples, Fairy Tales, Romantic Living, Romanticism, and more. We’re damsels not in distress fighting for the all-new optimistic Romantic Revolution. Join us and subscribe. For more information, see our About, Old-Fashioned Romance 101, Modern Romanticism 101, and Romantic Living 101.
Pin this article to read later! And make sure to follow us on Pinterest.
The Silver Petticoat Book Club: Your September 2020 Read is ‘Sorcerer to the Crown’ Pinterest Image

MORE ROMANCE: